Are you New to Doctor Who…

Image property of the BBC.

…and think you may want to watch it?

But you need, perhaps, a bit more to convince you? After all, it is one of the oldest series of all time, with 26 seasons and counting. So you wonder, how on earth will you get enough time to watch all of that?
And most importantly, why should you?

Of course, you don’t have to. I got around to watch the series around 2010. I was curious about it and had some time I decided was worth killing in satisfying my curiosity, if only for 2 or 3 episodes. You can probably tell by now that I didn’t stop at 3 episodes; today, as we speak, I am eagerly waiting for the new season that will air on September 1, 2012.

So, I’m going to answer two questions that perhaps will help you decide to watch these series.

Who is the Doctor?

Well, that is the thing; no one really knows. Yes, some of you who have already watched the series will think “But of course we know who he is, we have watched countless episodes of his adventures!”, but if you really think about it, deep down, you don’t know who this being is. Sure, he shares details here and there, but there is so much he keeps to himself.

I don’t want to spoil you, so I will just leave you with quote from a random character from the show; she is, of course, talking about him:

This was the site of a convent. Back in the 1300s. It’s said a demon fell from the sky. Then a man appeared. A man in a Blue Box. They called him the sainted physician. He smote the demon and then disappeared.

Why should you watch it?

Maybe you are not really into science fiction, or maybe you are. Either way, it doesn’t really matter. The show is about so much more than just science fiction. Of course, what they do with it, it’s amazing, but the show itself has so much emotion, more than only one kind. It can make you cry, it can make you laugh, it can make you anxious and scared and excited and whatnot. But it mostly comes down to this: the fact that you want to enjoy a good story. If this is your case, then do give it a try.

Where should you start?

First season of New Who; that means, the season from 2005. If you want to go really hardcore, then by all means hunt down the old episodes and watch them from the begining, all of the 26 seasons, but you don’t need to go back that much in order to understand what’s going on.

Now, some people love it from episode 1, and even though DW is one of my favorite series of all time, I did not get hooked until episode 3. So be a little patient if you are having trouble staying interested at first; watch at least 3 or 4 episodes before you decide if you like it or not.

The Tardis (Time and Relative Dimension in Space).

To me, it was more than worth it giving it a second and a third chance.

One thought on “Are you New to Doctor Who…

  1. Awesome description of the Doctor Who Series. In my case I thought that I was not going to like the series, I did not even know the main theme and then “someone” came and said: hey, its about time travel and awe… say no more, time travel? I am in. In the end, I got hooked since episode 1, although the first episode that I watched was from season 3: Blink.

    I can point out that you can start watching the series from the series 5 if you don not want to go back and watch a bunch of episodes, but I would not recommend it because you would miss one hell of a ride.

    Another thing is that wearing Doctor Who Tshirts is a plus with geek girls, I went to an University event a couple of days ago and bam, compliments everywhere! True Story!

Leave a Reply

